Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Highly Prestigious Faculty Award Investiture - April 25, 2023

The University of Iowa will celebrate the incredible accomplishments of more than 80 current and emeriti faculty at the inaugural Highly Prestigious Faculty Award Investiture. The ceremony will take place at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 25 at Hancher Auditorium. A reception will follow in the Stanley Café.

The event will honor faculty who have been recognized with a highly prestigious award, as designated by the National Research Council (NRC). The honorees will wear their academic regalia as President Barbara Wilson and Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel present each recipient with a medallion indicating the award they received and the year they received the honor.

Ted Abel, professor and chair of the Department of Neuroscience and Pharmacology in the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and director of the Iowa Neuroscience Institute, will be the featured speaker at the event.

The NRC designates more than 100 awards, honors, and recognitions from a range of disciplines as highly prestigious. In addition to bringing increased visibility and elevating opportunities for the faculty recipients, these outstanding achievements are tracked by the AAU as a metric for institutional membership.

This inaugural event will recognize the community of talented faculty members who have helped shape Iowa's foundation of excellence and positioned our university for continued success. Future years will celebrate faculty who are honored with a highly prestigious award over the past calendar year.

This event is open to the public and all members of the campus community are encouraged to attend to celebrate the remarkable contributions of these faculty members.