The university carries out its academic mission primarily through its 12 colleges, which offer undergraduate and graduate education, professional education, and education and training in the health sciences. 

In addition, several other academic units work in cooperation with the colleges to advance education, research, creative work, and community engagement.

To find organizational charts for the university's college and major administrative units, see the Operations Manual.

Sub-units within the Office of the Provost (which is defined as Org 02 in the UI Accounting Code Manual) include: