The Iowa Faculty Scholar Award recognizes outstanding UI faculty members and provides each awardee with central funds for a period of three years to enhance their scholarly activities with the goal of developing and supporting a cadre of UI scholars across a broad array of academic disciplines. Awardees may use the funds at their discretion to support their scholarly activities. Examples of potential uses for funds include, but are not limited to:

  • support for research assistant
  • equipment
  • travel
  • publication costs
  • summer salary

UI tenured faculty (generally 1-5 years after receiving tenure and promotion) with an established national and/or international reputation in a discipline (e.g., excellence in scholarly productivity, teaching achievements, fellowships/awards received) are eligible for this award.

Nominations must be submitted by deans or departmental executive officers with dean approval. The College of Liberal Arts and Science and Carver College of Medicine may submit up to two nominations per year; all other colleges may submit one nomination per year.

Provide as separate or combined bookmarked PDF.

  • Cover Sheet
  • DEO/Dean Support Letter, including but not limited to:
    • Current impact and future promise of candidate
    • Statement of plan to support candidate’s development (e.g., leadership opportunities, professional development, monitoring service commitments, progress meetings, expectations for teaching, scholarship and service)
  •  Materials from candidate
    • Current CV
    • Statement of how funds will support/impact academic development

A total of up to four awards will be given each year. Each award will consist of an allocation of $25,000 per year for a period of three years. Recipients will be expected to participate in a yearly symposium to showcase their work and in other cohort development activities to support career progression.  

A committee representative of campus leadership will assess the nominations and make recommendations to the provost.

Cohort Development Activities

Recipients are expected to participate in a yearly symposium to showcase their work and in other development activities to support career progression.

Development conferences are provided on a rolling three-year cycle and include: lunch with the President and Provost, Research Leadership, Leadership 101, Mentoring Across Difference, Grant Writing, Meeting Management, Understanding Budget and Resources, and Giving and Receiving Feedback. A book club will also be hosted each year.

Participants will complete a Faculty Development Plan (FDP) to help guide their personalized development goals.

Nominations must be submitted by dean or DEO with dean approval to by noon on March 8, 2024.

Awardees announced: April 25, 2024

Funding begins: July 1, 2024

Mary Charlton, Melissa Febos, Michael Schnieders, Rong Su, Michelle Voss


May 2, 2024 | 3:30 pm | Iowa Theatre, IMU

Join us for 15-minute presentations by the inaugural 2022-2025 Iowa Mid-Career Faculty Scholars cohort at 3:30 p.m., Thursday, May 2, 2024, in the Iowa Theatre of the Iowa Memorial Union. A public reception will follow in the North Room. More Information.