The University of Iowa

Hubbard-Walder Award for Teaching Excellence (2021)

Deans, Directors and Departmental Executive Officers
Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Chair, Council on Teaching and Tanya Uden-Holman, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education
February 11, 2021 
CALL FOR NOMINATIONS:  Hubbard-Walder Award for Teaching Excellence (DEADLINE: Noon on Monday, March 29, 2021)

We write to invite nominations for the Hubbard-Walder Award for Teaching Excellence. This award recognizes faculty who have participated in a rich variety of university teaching (e.g., undergraduate, graduate or professional, classroom, one-on-one) and who have contributed to curriculum and/or program development. Five faculty members (tenure-track, clinical-track, or instructional-track) will receive the award. Each award carries a $1,000 honorarium.

Each DEO is eligible to submit one nomination to the Council on Teaching on behalf of a faculty member in the DEO’s department. The nominee must have a minimum of six years of teaching experience at the University of Iowa and must hold the rank of Associate Professor, Professor, Clinical Associate Professor, Clinical Professor, Associate Professor of Instruction/Practice, or Professor of Instruction/Practice. The DEO must follow the nomination guidelines and use the Hubbard-Walder Award Cover Sheet for the nominee. Nomination guidelines and cover sheets can be found on the Council on Teaching website at this link. Nominations should be submitted electronically to Kimberly Nye (, in the Office of the Provost, by noon on Monday, March 29, 2021.

We encourage DEOs to consult widely with a diverse and broadly representative group of students, faculty, and administrators to identify outstanding faculty to nominate for this award. The Council also expects DEOs to give full consideration to women and minority candidates in the selection process. The Hubbard-Walder Award for Teaching Excellence can only be received once. Nomination guidelines can be found on the Council on Teaching website at:

If you have any questions, you may contact Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Chair of the Council on Teaching or Kimberly Nye, Administrative contact via email at