Award recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the university and the community.
Monday, April 22, 2024

Established in memory of Professor Michael J. Brody, president of the Faculty Senate from 1986 to 1987, this award recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the university and the community. This year’s recipients were announced at the March 2024 UI Faculty Senate meeting and each will receive $1,000 and a commemorative piece of artwork designed by a graduate art student. 

Nicole Grosland

Nicole Gosland

Nicole M. Grosland, associate dean for academic programs and Distinguished Professor in the College of Engineering, joined the university in 2001. She has since served in a wide range of significant departmental, collegiate, and university service roles including undergraduate advising and recruiting, masters and doctorate committees, department curriculum redesign, the Faculty Teaching Evaluation Task Force, and the strategic plan DEI Development Team. Grosland also serves as the liaison between President Wilson and the Department of Athletics and was a founding member of Clubfoot Solutions, a nonprofit organization that provides effective and affordable treatment with children with clubfoot worldwide.


Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez

Ana Rodriguez-Rodriguez

Ana M. Rodríguez-Rodríguez, associate professor and director of undergraduate studies in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, joined the university in 2008. Her prodigious service record includes roles as Interim DEO of the Department of French and Italian, elected CLAS representative on the Faculty Council, chair of the CLAS Faculty Assembly, and Director of Graduate Studies in Spanish, and as a member of numerous policy, curriculum, and search committees. Perhaps most visibly, she served as secretary, vice president, president, and past president of the Faculty Senate (2020-2024) during which time she promoted meaningful policy reform to increase faculty pay, benefits, and morale. She is considered a trusted and selfless leader among her colleagues. 


Kenneth Brown

Ken Brown

Kenneth G. Brown is the Tippie Children Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship in the Tippie College of Business and interim DEO of Educational Policy and Leadership Studies in the College of Education. He served as program coordinator for the Tippie International Visiting Scholar Program and co-chair of the Faculty Teaching Evaluation Task Force. In addition to his departmental and collegiate leadership roles, Brown’s service to the community is equally impactful. He is a member of the Board of Trustees for the Herbert Hoover Presidential Foundation, a past president of the Board of Directors of the Iowa City Community School District Foundation, and he was co-lead for the Campaign Advancement Team for Leadership Givers for the United Way of Johnson and Washington counties.