The University of Iowa

Other Awards for UI Faculty

Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence

The Brody Award is named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, former president of the UI Faculty Senate. It recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exceptional service contributions to the UI and the community. 

Teaching in Higher Education Travel Award

Sponsored by the Council on Teaching, the Teaching in Higher Education Travel Award supports faculty members (clinical, tenure-track/tenured, and instructional track) and P&S staff members who require support to attend a conference related to teaching in their discipline or in higher education in general.

Lola Lopes Award for Undergraduate Student Advocacy

The Lola Lopes Award for Undergraduate Student Advocacy recognizes administrators, staff, or faculty outside of their teaching roles who serve as strong and effective advocates for undergraduate students and the undergraduate experience.  The award is administered by the Office of the Provost. 

President & Provost Award for Teaching Excellence

The President & Provost Award for Teaching Excellence, administered by the UI Council on Teaching, recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated a sustained, high level of teaching excellence.

Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

Six University of Iowa faculty members have won the 2011 Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. Given by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, the award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education.  

Research Funding Opportunities

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development maintains information about where faculty can find funding for their research and scholarly activities.

Named Faculty Positions

Named faculty positions provide an opportunity to honor the academic achievements of selected faculty candidates while recognizing the generosity of donors to the academic enterprise.