The Brody Award is named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, former president of the UI Faculty Senate. It recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the UI and the community.

The Lola Lopes Award for Undergraduate Student Advocacy, given annually by the Office of the Provost, honors University of Iowa administrators and staff who support undergraduate education and who serve as strong, effective advocates for undergraduate students.

The President & Provost Award for Teaching Excellence, administered by the UI Council on Teaching, recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated a sustained, high level of teaching excellence.

Past recipients: See the Council on Teaching web site.

Given by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, the award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education. The University of Iowa will select up to six faculty members each year to receive this award and will award each recipient a $1,500 one-time stipend. The recipients are announced and presented in the spring semester.

Please see the guidelines for nominations.

Sponsored by the Council on Teaching, the Teaching in Higher Education Travel Award supports faculty members (clinical, tenure-track/tenured, and instructional track) and P&S staff members who require support to attend a conference related to teaching in their discipline or in higher education in general.

Sponsored by the Council on Teaching, the Hubbard-Walder Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes faculty who have participated in a rich variety of university teaching (e.g., undergraduate, graduate or professional, classroom, one-on-one) and who have contributed to curriculum and/or program development. 

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development maintains information about where faculty can find funding for their research and scholarly activities.

Named faculty positions provide an opportunity to honor the academic achievements of selected faculty candidates while recognizing the generosity of donors to the academic enterprise. Named faculty positions include endowed deanships, chairs and professorships, as well as named professorships that are supported by temporary funds. Nominations for named faculty appointments must be submitted by the dean of the college to the executive vice president and provost