Administrative organizational charts for the University of Iowa can be found at

Created in 1909, the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, governs the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, the University of Northern Iowa, the Iowa Braille and Sight-Saving School, and the Iowa School for the Deaf. The nine Regents (one of whom must be a full-time student enrolled at one of the three state universities) are appointed for staggered six-year terms by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Iowa Senate. The Board maintains a listing current members and staff contacts at their website.

The president, appointed by the Board of Regents, is the principal officer of the university, with additional administrative responsibility assigned to the executive vice president and provost, the vice president for finance and operations, the vice president for research and economic development, and the vice president for student life.

The university’s organization places major administrative responsibility at the collegiate level through the collegiate deans. The university is comprised of eleven colleges that offer undergraduate and graduate education, professional education, and education and training in the health sciences.

Faculty members participate in university-wide policymaking through the Faculty Senate and its many standing committees. They also participate in shared governance at the collegiate and departmental level.

See the university-wide shared governance page for additional information about faculty, staff, and student participation in university governance. 

The Emeritus Faculty Council is the executive committee of the Association of Emeritus Faculty of the University of Iowa, and serves as an advisory body to the university administration.