University of Iowa

Call for Honorary Degree Nominations

Deans, Directors, and Departmental Executive Officers
James Torner, Professor, and Chair, Honorary Degree Selection Committee
June 10, 2013
Call for Honorary Degree Nominations

The University of Iowa Honorary Degree Selection Committee seeks nominations for the 2013-14 awards.

Nominations may come from colleges or from individual faculty members. Committee recommendations must be approved by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa. 

Degrees may be conferred upon individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in such areas as research, scholarship, education, artistic creation, social activism, human rights, innovation or invention beneficial to society, and humanitarian outreach. Current employees of the university and individuals holding elected government office are not eligible, but honorary degrees may be awarded to former employees and former elected officials who meet the criteria. Philanthropy cannot be the sole or main criterion for awarding an honorary degree, but may be taken into account as a factor to be considered by the Honorary Degree Committee in a determination to award an honorary degree.

Nomination packets should be coordinated through one individual then submitted hard copy to the Honorary Degree Selection Committee in care of Evalyn Van Allen-Shalash, Office of the Provost, 111 Jessup Hall,  or via email attachment to

Nomination packets should include:

  • A one- to two-page letter of nomination outlining the nominee’s achievements, which must include:
    • A clear statement of the category of the nominee’s achievements (e.g., research, humanitarian outreach, etc);
    • A description of the nature of the nominee’s achievements and how these achievements are “extraordinary” and “sustained” over an entire career.
  • Four, and only four, letters of support.
    • At least two of the four letters must come from faculty members of the appropriate college.
    • Letters of support are limited to two pages.

Nominations that do not meet these requirements will not be considered.

For more details on nominations, see or contact Evalyn at 319-335-0142. The deadline for nominations is FRIDAY, JULY 19, 2013.